Middle School Science Fair Projects Explore Vast World

On Saturday, February 7, 2015, a very exciting event took place, encouragin students to think like young scientists. The 9th Annual Saturnelli Science Fair—named in honor of former Newburgh Enlarged City School District Superintendent Dr. Annette Saturnelli—was held at Heritage Middle School in New Windsor. 

Over 225 projects were entered by students in 6th, 7th and 8th grades ranging on topics from bio-engineering, behavioral and social sciences, microbiology, chemistry, plant sciences, medicine and health sciences, cellular and molecular biology, electrical and mechanical engineering, to name a few. 

8th Grade Winners: Suyhalia Karim Doran (L), Logan Murillo (C), Julius Olitan (R)

Over the course of a few months, middle school students designed science projects that use the scientific method to solve a problem: identifying a problem, developing a hypothesis, designing an experiment, analyzing their data and making a conclusion based on that data.  Students developed skills in writing, oral presentation, creative thinking, and problem solving.  Students are judged on the quality of their work, as revealed by their written and oral presentations. 

Students from NFA’s Science Honor Society served as judges for the science fair.  Judges were said to have done a phenomenal job, ensuring that the judging process was a fair and positive experience for the junior scientists.

Pizza Mia generously donated lunch for the judges. In addition, Heritage Middle School Parent Teacher Organization provided snacks and beverages to the competing junior scientists throughout the science fair. 

6th grade winners

First: Andrew Nieves

Second: David Stridiron

Third: Matthew Jenei

Honorable mention: Serenity Capella; Megan Sweeney; Sophia Hyhun; Selin Yakoup; Colin Evans

7th Grade Winners

First: John Shalloum

Second: Naomi Phemister     

Third: Brennan Barnes

Honorable Mention:  Shayla Cuttino; Sergio Morales; Madalyn Noble; Elsa Blanco; Hailey Dondo

8th Grade Winners

First: Julius Olitan

Second: Logan Murillo

Third: Suyhalia Karim Doran

Honorable mention: Zachariah Smith; Matt Stridiron; Jared Verdin; Mackenzie Kirby; Carson Leggett

*** More great photos by Kerry Butrick - Media Relations Specialist for NECSD ***

Science is cooler than ever..